Six Sentence Sunday – Theseus needs weapons

Happy Six Sentence Sunday all!🙂 I am back with another snippet from Poseidon’s Mask – from Theseus’ point of view again. If you remember the myth of the Minotaur, you know that when Theseus came of age, his mother took him to a rock and told him that below it he would find his father’s arms. Theseus managed to move the rock and retrieve the weapons – which he later showed to his real father, proving their relation.

In my version, the weapons (left by Theseus’ real father, i.e. Poseidon) have been placed underneath the altar in Poseidon’s temple. The Satyr takes Theseus there and tells him to do what he must – move the alter, retrieve the weapons.

Not as easy as it sounds…

Setting his shoulder against the altar, he shoved. Muscles strained in his arms, in his back, in his chest. The tendons in his neck ached with the tension as he pushed hard, a groan rising from his throat.

The altar didn’t budge.

The satyr cleared his throat. It sounded awfully much like a snicker.

Hope you’re having fun with all these snippets! Check out more at the six sentence sunday site!

About chrystallathoma

Welcome to my blog. My name is Chrystalla and I am a Fantasy, Science Fiction and Romance author. I am Greek Cypriot and I like to write about fantastical creatures, crazy adventures, and family bonds. I live in Cyprus with my husband and my vast herds of books. I write fantasy, science-fiction and romance, often all mixed up. View all posts by chrystallathoma

2 responses to “Six Sentence Sunday – Theseus needs weapons

Leave a Reply

